To Tolerate a Deity

I bought a house beside a lake
To get away from God
For fear my fellow men were nought
But playthings of a Lord.

 
 

I built a fence around my land
To keep away from Time
In case she beckoned at the gate
And called her playmate, Life.

 
 

I boarded all the windows up
Lest peering through came Jove
To bind me to my fellow man
And strike me down with Love.

 
 

I strive for Solidarity
To keep out what I must –
To tolerate a deity
Is neither fair nor just.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

